X

SITE MAP

Home
ABOUT > About Us > Tutors > Membership > Donate
Courses
News
Gallery
Contact

Latest News

Welcome to our new website !

Below are our up-coming courses.  The full list is under the "News" tab.

To return to this page, click on our logo on the left.

The "courses" tab will let you enroll in courses electronically, however this feature isn't up and running just yet.

---

Our 2017 first semester programme contained 16 courses ... our next courses are:


War Poets and their stories

With Harry Ricketts (Victoria) on Saturday 24 June, 10 am – 3 pm at Kapiti Community Centre, 15 Ngahina Street, Paraparaumu

Cost: $50 (members)

Since the 1960s, Wilfred Owen has been enshrined as the ‘poet of pity’, the pre-eminent poet of the First World War and by extension of war itself. For many, his ‘Dulce Et Decorum Est’, recreating the horrific effects of a gas attack, has become the defining war poem. But there were many other memorable WWI poets, including some from New Zealand and Australia. Come and discover (or rediscover) these with Professor Harry Ricketts of Victoria University of Wellington, author of Strange Meetings: The Lives of the Poets of the Great War


Death and Dying in New Zealand

With Paul Morris (Victoria) on Saturday 1 July, 1 pm – 3 pm at Kapiti Community Centre, 15 Ngahina Street, Paraparaumu

Cost: $30 (members)

This course will discuss death, dying and religion in New Zealand: facts, debates and concerns. It will explore the changing nature of death in contemporary New Zealand, and look at some of the moral issues surrounding the end of life. This is an introduction to an often taboo subject

Dr Paul Morris is a teaching Professor at the School of Art History, Classics and Religious Studies at Victoria University.


And our second semester courses (brochures available early July) are:

Course Date
Gold Card Pick’n Mix Various – 1 day each month
Battle of Waterloo Saturday 29 July
Eastern Philosophy Saturday 5 August
Art History - American Art after 1945 Monday 7 August (4 weeks)
Modern Iran Saturday 12 August
A Bloody Road Home – NZ in WWII Saturday 26 August
Preserving Sound Media Saturday 2 September
Animals in Art Wednesday 6 September (5 weeks)
Vatican Art Saturday 9 September
Pompeii – frozen in time Saturday 16 September
Shakespeare – Twelfth Night Tuesday 26 September (4 weeks)
Marine Conservation Saturday 7 October
Ancient Egypt - Prehistory Wednesday 18 October (4 weeks)
Geology Saturday 11 November
Astronomy Saturday TBA


Kapiti WEA - Learning for Life

The WEA (Workers Educational Association) was set up in 1915 and is the longest-serving provider of adult education in New Zealand. Our aim is to provide community based, stimulating and varied educational activities that develop knowledge, skills, creativity, understanding and enjoyment of life. We offer courses in relaxed, non-threatening environments, using the best tutors available from Wellington and the Kapiti Coast.